Heated seat buttons - 'always on' vs. iterative activation

Reprise

Original poster
Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Jul 22, 2015
I'll start this by saying that I'm no expert when it comes to switches & relays - I know 'DPDT' stands for 'dual pole, dual toggle', or something like that. And I have / can use a multimeter. But that's about it :smile:

Anyway... as those of you with heated seats know, they have to be turned on each time the vehicle is started (let's call them 'momentary activation' switches, until one of you corrects me). Each time the vehicle is keyed off, and restarted, the seats must be turned on again.

What I'd like to convert to:
Rocker switches - 3 settings, just like OEM, preserving the independent seat back operation.

a) Can it be done?

2) What would I need (I know I need a 3-way (6-way?) toggle, and probably a relay (?) or two of some type)

I don't care about having the toggle switches in the armrest - if I have to move it to the dash, side of seat, center console - I'm OK with that. And I can leave the existing buttons there, 'dead'.
I'm concerned with functionality, not beauty.

Yes, I know that being 'momentary' switches, that a signal is probably being sent to the CANBus on activation / deactivation / cycling through settings.

What this would give me (for those who are wondering) is the ability to have the seats 'on', if I have them activated, every time I start the vehicle, without having to remember to turn them on. My other vehicle(s) have this, so it would be nice to have the same thing.

I know GM switched from 'momentary' switches to toggles at some point - I had a few rides in an Equinox a few years back that had the toggles (in the center console area). And they looked a lot like Webasto's toggles, IMO.

I just don't know if it's possible to change out one for the other. But I know someone here will probably know. ::fingers crossed::

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON