NEED HELP Front Turn Signal/Side Marker

crashwinkie098

Original poster
Nov 22, 2014
Blairsville PA
My passenger side turn signal and side marker light will not illuminate. Driver's side lights up, but neither side will flash. The indicator light on the dash flashes fast like I have a bulb burnt out on both sides. Rears lights all work fine, although they flash fast like I have a burnt out bulb. I changed out the passenger side bulbs thinking that they could be bad and the problem still persists. Anyone out there able to point me in the right direction? I don't have a multimeter otherwise I would be out there poking around to try and find the trouble area and I am still learning how to read diagrams.

Thanks for the help!

Mounce

Mar 29, 2014
Tuscaloosa, AL
You did use the correct bulb right? Has to be dual filament. 3157 / 4157 / 3057 whatever it is the xx57 is always dual filament. A xx56 (ex. 3156) is single filament and will act like you stated.

Also, regular bulbs right, not led?

Sparky

Dec 4, 2011
Making sure I have the details right:

Parking lights in the rear on both sides work.
Parking lights driver front works.
Parking lights passenger front does not work.

Turn signal blinks in the rear on both sides, but fast.
Turn signal does not blink on driver front, or passenger front.

Sounds like a harness problem to me, but I still cannot find my manuals and wiring diagrams to check for common connection points that could be failure points.

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
Time to start checking wiring with a digital multi-meter (DMM). Download the manuals from the link in my sig, it has detailed schematics.

Silly question, you did check the fuses? Sometimes the filament can short when it burns out and blow the fuse. Other than that, I'm thinking possibly a ground issue.

crashwinkie098

Original poster
Nov 22, 2014
Blairsville PA