Electrical Advice Available

gruvedaddy

Original poster
Dec 28, 2011
I figured i'd try and help out here in some form , and since i'm not not much of a car mechanic i'd help out with what i know, Electrical. I've been an Electrician for nearly 17 years and have done electrical work in residential, commercial, industrial, institutional and research facilities. So if you got any questions , hit me up and i'll help out if i can.

The_Roadie

Lifetime VIP Donor
Nov 19, 2011
Portland, OR
Hiya! I'm an electrical engineer, and do a lot of wiring, but I've never done a portable spa. I've read the advice sites, and know about how GFCIs work. Just not sure about code because the last class I took was in college in 1972. I just bought a used but very nice shape unit.

Going from the CB panel at the front of the house along the inside garage wall to the rear of the house, then through the stucco wall to a GFCI near the spa.

1) With the spa needing 3 #8 AWG conductors for a 40A circuit, and something (12 AWG?) for the ground, is 3/4" EMT the right size for the inside-garage run or do I need 1"? Does it need to be in metal conduit because it's the garage? PVC OK?

2) How long can my flexible run from the wall-mounted GFCI be to the side of the spa? I won't be trenching it because it's right next to the house on a concrete slab.

3) What's with the requirement for a separate 120 V GFCI receptacle near the spa? I have an outdoor GFCI receptacle about 8 feet away, but it's not on the new spa circuit. Does it have to be?

Any other advice? Thanks!

gruvedaddy

Original poster
Dec 28, 2011
Hey roadie.
1. I'd run a 1" conduit, PVC is fine the entire route. It's much easier to install and cheaper. Also the wires will be much easier to pull in the larger conduit. Use a #10 wire for the ground. And be sure to use a 2 pole 40 amp GFCI breaker for the main feed.