NEED HELP Couple questions bout my TB

Legendaryt2

Original poster
Apr 13, 2016
Hi I'm new to this site, I have a 2005 TB 4x4 4.2.

First major thing I'd like to know is I'm in need of a left rear axle. Truck was hit on the left side do the wheel and axle wobbles.

A) should I try to find just an axle (hard to come across so far or I got a price of $300)
B) replace the whole rear end

I also tried to find a DIY for a rear end swap but my searches gives me either a front axle replacement or a DIY for a Suburban. I never did this type of work before and I'm a novice with no access to a shop or plenty tools, but I have tackled other DIY jobs (removing cylinder heads from a Cressida and Audi A4) that had instructions and a layout of tools needed. Does anyone know of a DIY for a rear end swap?

The other thing is I'm only getting heat from just the driver side vents. The passenger side is only getting cold air even though the passenger switch is at the top of its movement (in the red)

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks

Matt

Dec 2, 2011
You've probably lost the actuator for the HVAC, that's why the vents aren't working the way they should.

Just looking at Rock auto, you can get the axle shaft, bearing, lock c-clip, pilot bearing and shaft seal for about $170. The alternative is finding a complete axle, with the right gear ratio, at a junk yard.

Reactions: mrrsm

Bill Reid

Dec 18, 2015
Chandler, AZ
If the axle was hit hard enough to bend the axle hub there is a possibility that the axle tube end could also be bent. If possible I would at least check that first. If not possible you might look at a local junkyard to see if you can find a whole differential with same gears still on the truck. Tough call to buy an axle with the possibility of it not (completely) solving the problem.

Legendaryt2

Original poster
Apr 13, 2016