Check Engine Light: 01 Pontiac Aztek Help

TollKeeper

Original poster
Supporting Donor
Dec 3, 2011
Brighton, CO
I know, I know.. Its a Pontiac Aztek. But its my wifes car, and my son also travels in the car with her, so I got to keep it running top notch.

So 2 weeks ago, SES light pops on, pull the code, I dont remember exactly (it was 2 weeks ago), but I think it was P0131, B1S1 O2 sensor. At that time I did not have a scantool to look at live data.

I ordered a new ACDelco O2 sensor, installed it last week, clear the SES light. And assume all is good. I also ordered a TOPDON Elite scantool.

Took the truck out yesterday, and the SES light comes on again. I got code P0131 B1S1 o2 sensor. I run the live data on it, which I will admit I am not very good at understanding the data, but the data, from articles I have read, are very consistant of what the O2 sensor should be doing. STFT look good, again from my understandings. I look at the rear o2 sensor, and the data stream looks very slow. Going to one voltage, 0.665 and staying there for a long time, than dropping to 0.140 and staying there for a long time. Rinse and repeat.

I plugged my Scantool into my Envoy for comparisons sake, and I have 2 rear o2's on it. One sensor looks to be moving around fairly quickly, going from 0.145 up to 0.720 fairly regularly and consistently. The other bank, not so much. hanging mostly around 0.620 with slight deviations, but not very much. The front 02 sensors are operating in what I believe are in normal fashion, with very regular and consistent movement from 0.060 up to 0.800.

So on my Aztek, why would I be getting a code for B1S1 when it appears to be operating normal? What else should I be checking? Could the rear o2 sensor be causing a check engine light for the front o2 sensor?