Beadlock rims on trailblazer, aluminum vs steel

02trailblazerLS

Original poster
Mar 3, 2020
windsor
Hey guys im planning on buying some beadlock rims for my tb, i just dont know whether to go for aluminum or steel beadlocks, I know with steelies you can bend it back if they get bent and there alot more durable but there real heavy and that the aluminum ones are alot lighter but could potentially crack. Will the steelies affect my offroad performance in a negative way because their heavier? Or is that added weight beneficial? And with aluminum beadlocks some people were saying there great And better than steel and others say there not as good as steelies, im new to this so any help would be great.

HARDTRAILZ

Nov 18, 2011
I may be the only one that actually ran beadlocks on a TB. I had DIY steel ones. They were heavy, esp paired with the 36 inch swampers.

I would definitely choose Aluminum over steel for weight saving. I would not worry at all about cracking an aluminum beadlock.

I am curious what kind of offroading you are into that you think you need them. I only ran them a short time and went back to regular aluminum wheels. I generally do not air down to less than 15 psi so beadlocks are not really needed.

1599054645740.png

1599054667881.png

02trailblazerLS

Original poster
Mar 3, 2020
windsor
I may be the only one that actually ran beadlocks on a TB. I had DIY steel ones. They were heavy, esp paired with the 36 inch swampers.

I would definitely choose Aluminum over steel for weight saving. I would not worry at all about cracking an aluminum beadlock.

I am curious what kind of offroading you are into that you think you need them. I only ran them a short time and went back to regular aluminum wheels. I generally do not air down to less than 15 psi so beadlocks are not really needed.

View attachment 96671

View attachment 96672

View attachment 96671

View attachment 96672