Are rodents chewing on your GM vehicle's wiring?

Mooseman

Original poster
Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
Reactions: Redbeard and mrrsm

59840Surfer

Apr 19, 2020
Montana
I had a couple of shops in Hemet, CA for a while and that there WERE a lot of citrus farms in the area, there were rats all over the place and they chose to live in the top of the palm trees many times.

I had a few --- mark that: a FEW customers with rodents (read: really huge RATS) that merrily chewed up their wires.

Mostly it was Fords and Jeeps, but an occasional Cadillac of current vintage only (this was 1994-1997 or so) vehicles we chewed upon.

But, since that particular experience, I haven't seen it so much any more.

PROLOGUE: Although I'm retired - I still get a few "customers" who know I was a SoCal mechanic and they seem to eschew the local farmer's kids working at the dealerships and shop, so I get a lot of word-of-mouth work.

So - I work on a lot of vintage stuff --- and not just JD and Case tractors - but honest-to-real cars and trucks. But I think the occurrences of wire eating rodents has either stopped or all the rats moved to warmer climates.

PS - I live in Montana - and we get --- maybe ---- 4 weeks of summer. My guess is that all the rats are now in Phoenix or Riverside.

Reactions: Matt and Mooseman

Mooseman

Original poster
Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
I dunno. I think it's getting a resurgence because cars aren't moving as much anymore due to more people working from home. Only experience I've had was a 90's snowmobile that sat outside that had its wiring chewed up. Only the wires, nothing else.

Reactions: mrrsm and Redbeard

mrrsm

Lifetime VIP Donor
Supporting Donor
Oct 22, 2015
Tampa Bay Area
... and on the Problem Prevention side of the matter...