Anyone drive in 3rd in the city?

AzTruckGuy

Original poster
Dec 1, 2015
scottsdale, az
So I am just learning this and I viewed it on Trailvoy, I took my dog out to the park and on the way home, put it in 3rd. Wow I'm not kidding the Trailblazer felt way smoother with no engine drag or the feeling of slow gears. It felt like a completely different Chevy, why didn't anyone tell me this before?

littleblazer

Jul 6, 2014
Huge loss of fuel economy I would guess? My trucks tune is good enough where I don't mind. 3rd for me means 50-55 most of the time and that's pretty high up there in the band for around town... but yes it puts you right in the power curve so more is right there.

AzTruckGuy

Original poster
Dec 1, 2015
scottsdale, az
Your kidding right about the fuel loss? I already have bad MPG, so you think 3rds going to make it worse? We shall see since I am imputing my fuel ups on fuelly. In my case my city commutes consists of about 4 - 5 miles of stop and go driving, the highest MPH being about 40 though most of it is about 25 - 35.

Mounce

Mar 29, 2014
Tuscaloosa, AL
Well yeah, making it stay in third of course takes fourth gear away which means to run the same speed the engine is turning more rpms in third than it would in fourth.

Higher rmp generally means more fuel.

Biggest difference you're feeling is probably the lack of delay of kick down to third where that the engine will bog down a bit before the computer decides to switch gears shifting.

AzTruckGuy

Original poster
Dec 1, 2015
scottsdale, az
Well yeah, making it stay in third of course takes fourth gear away which means to run the same speed the engine is turning more rpms in third than it would in fourth.

Higher rmp generally means more fuel.

Biggest difference you're feeling is probably the lack of delay of kick down to third where that the engine will bog down a bit before the computer decides to switch gears shifting.