SOLVED! 4.2 cam phaser 03 Tb Ext LT

mattpaul89

Original poster
Jan 13, 2023
MI
So I'm in the middle of a replacing my cam phaser, oil pump, and harmonic balancer pulley and I'm not sure what cam phaser to get the 1 on my 03 EXT LT is the one with the solid crank attached to the phaser. The only one I can find is the one with the holes in the crank so I was wondering if they are there different or are they compatible??? And is there anything else I should or need to replace while I'm in there I'm no mechanic I'm just a DIY guy that's handy with a wrench and trying to save some money I've got everything apart just need some advice on how to get everything back together properly I would really hate have to redo this fun project lol thanks for any advice that can be shared 👍🏻 pic of my cam phaser below

Attachments

• IMG_20230106_021942.jpg
    IMG_20230106_021942.jpg
    356.4 KB · Views: 4
Last edited:

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
Holes or no holes doesn't make any difference. It's the internals that changed, IIRC, in 2005. I've tried the Delphi rebuilt and it failed. The Dorman, #917255 (with holes), worked fine until the truck went to its grave.

You should also replace the CPAS since everything else will be new. Just clean off the cam sensor.

If you want to read up, I have this thread I did a few years ago:

TJBaker57

Aug 16, 2015
Colorado
If I remember correctly there were 4 different variations over the years and they are not interchangeable.

I am fairly certain there were differing reluctor notching in addition to internal changes.

I have this info but definitely do your research and get the right one...

Screenshot_20230113-212502.png

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
And it looks like the ACDelco/Delphi unit is discontinued, at least for 2002-2004 (19179010 ). Not surprising given it's been almost 20 years.

mattpaul89

Original poster
Jan 13, 2023
MI