2004 trailblazer no start till turn headlight switch

Lil' b

Original poster
Apr 22, 2019
Savannah GA
Start off I'm a tech at a shop that specializes in wiring issues. A customer has brought in an 04 Trailblazer with a really odd issue and I'm wondering if any of the deep knowledge people have heard of anything like this. Let the truck sit for a period, get in turn key no start no spin. Doesn't matter where you put the shifter same thing. Headlight switch has an LED that's amber. Turn counter clockwise and LED turns green. Release switch, now turn key and starts as normal. Allow time to sit and returns to no spin/amber LED. It had an aftermarket alarm, that's removed now and wires repaired. Also had a code/health reader on OBD2 port, no longer in place. Anybody had similar happen?

Blckshdw

Nov 20, 2011
Tampa Bay Area, FL
:confused: That's a new one on me. So after removing the alarm system and code reader, you still need the headlight override switch to start the truck? What happens if you disconnect the plugs on the back of the headlight switch assembly? Does the starter crank at all then?

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
I thought I had heard of a similar issue but it was actually the other way around where it would stall when the high beams were activated:

Turned out to be a grounding issue. Maybe the same on this one?

Maverick6587

Dec 16, 2018
Sterling Heights, Michigan
It definitely sounds like a wiring issue. I'm wondering which system it's grounding out with though. The anti-theft system or the starter. Can or did you verify that you hear the fuel pump priming?

I'm not sure if grounding out with the anti-theft system would or would not turn the security light on though.

I would check to see where/if there is a 5v reference loss in one of those systems though to narrow the search down. Just some thoughts of mine. Seems like a rough one to troubleshoot.

Lil' b

Original poster
Apr 22, 2019
Savannah GA