2002 TB RPMs Surging at highway speeds

nolongerseemssofar

Original poster
Jul 5, 2014
I have a 2002 TB LS w/ 133k that I've just bought. At highway speeds (50-70mph) the RPMS are sitting at around 1500 to 1600 on level road. If i start to speed up slowly, the RPMs will surge back and forth between 1500 and 2000 RPMs. If I give it a little more boot to beyond 2000 RPMs it will stop surging and speed up normally. I'm new to this engine so I'm not sure if this is a big problem or not. I can say that I will be replacing the fan clutch soon as it sounds like a jet engine from time to time, but I don't really think there's a link there. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Mounce

Mar 29, 2014
Tuscaloosa, AL
For the surging, is it shifting gears back and forth or staying in one gear? And for the fan clutch, it will sound like that sometimes like at start-up or time to time during idle or at slow speeds when it's audible over the engine and road noise. Are you getting a code for the fan clutch or anything else? I believe when the fan clutch becomes a problem in the PCM's eyes it'll throw the Reduced Engine Power light along with a Service Engine Soon code about it. Someone with more experience than I will chime in after daybreak.

Welcome to the Nation!! :thumbsup: :yes:

nolongerseemssofar

Original poster
Jul 5, 2014
It's staying in fourth while surging.

There is no code yet for the fan clutch, just trying to baby this thing take care of anything that comes up asap.

Harpo

Dec 4, 2011
Sweden
I think it's the normal in and out of lockup you are experiencing.

nolongerseemssofar

Original poster
Jul 5, 2014
Thanks! Since I just got it and I'm not sure what the maintenance history is, I'll probably have the transmission flushed and go from there. Thanks for the help!

gmcman

Dec 12, 2011