05 Envoy windshield washer pumps not working

Junfan

Original poster
May 15, 2014
I just got an 05 Envoy last night. I forgot to wash the windshield and today I went to use it and nothing. I checked both front and rear and neither of them spray. My truck is not equipped with the headlight washers.

I checked the washer level and I can see the solution. I then started looking around and noticed that the green taped connector to one of the pumps was not plugged in. I got my volt meter and had it ground and when my wife hit the switch I do not get any voltage. I am assuming I should see something like 5 or 12 volts on this motor? I also see the blue taped pump is plugged in but the rear is not working as I had mentioned.

I did replace the fuses and verified the relays are in place. I am new to these trucks but would love a little guidance. It appears maybe I have a short or bad grounds?

Thanks!

Kevin

IllogicTC

Dec 30, 2013
Sorry that nobody got to this sooner. I'm glad to see you've already at least done some basic troubleshooting. I believe these should show +12V when powered.

Have you had a chance to grab our service manuals? They're available for free and offer all kinds of service information, including full-color diagrams. All in PDF format here if you haven't found them yet.

If it was just one or the other, I might have also suspected the switch but as it's both I'm definitely suspecting wiring. The common point between these two pumps is the ground, G103, which is located on the left side of the radiator support. Trace the black wire from one of them and follow it clear to the end, you may indeed find your culprit there.

Junfan

Original poster
May 15, 2014
Thank you very much. I did find those diagrams so I am going to head to the garage with my laptop and see what I can figure out.

Junfan

Original poster
May 15, 2014