What's the next step after Meguiar's M105 and M205

BanditGTP

Original poster
Jan 2, 2013
Central NJ
I'm getting close to making some time to polish up my car. I've got a Porter Cable 7424 along with Meguiar's M105 and M205 polishes. I've seen in several different right ups that after using these, you should just get a good wax and apply that but then I've also seen people mention applying a sealer, glaze, wax, etc... I've never done this before but I would like to do this the right way. Does any one have suggestions or tips on exactly which product would be good to use?

Thanks

Reactions: kendrand1

xtitan1

Jun 5, 2013
It all depends on how far you want to take it brother. I wouldn't approach a DD (daily driver) the same way as a show car / garage queen. The former is going to need a more durable protectant (perhaps at the expense of shine or glow) and you are going to have to live with some of the deeper scratches it will inevitably get (otherwise you'd end up polishing through the paint if you kept wet sanding the same spots over and over as the vehicle took damage over time). There are also really good bang for the buck products and then there are specialty concours quality products and boutique products that cost a lot more, but have a much lower incremental quality for the price.

Before you begin any compounding/polishing you want to thoroughly wash the vehicle using a soap designed for cars. Car Wash Guide, Car Wash how to - easy steps to shampoo and dry your vehicle using paint-safe mitts and towels, plus sponges, the Grit Guard and

You then need to clay the vehicle to get bonded surface contaminants off of the paint. Auto detailing clay, detail clay bar, clay lubricant, Pinnacle Poly Clay, Wolfgang, auto detail clay, meguiar's detailing clay, auto clay bar