Upper ball joint advice?

mntb

Original poster
Mar 18, 2016
minnesota
I'm looking to replace both upper ball joints.
I have never done something like this before.
Does anyone have any tips of advice for this repair?
Do's or dont's?
I have to rent the ball joint tool. I have heard that one stores ball joint tool does not work well or work right. But I can't remember which store. I have an o'reilly, auto zone, napa, and advance auto parts near me.

I have been thinking about purchasing an corded electric impact gun from harbor freight for some time now. Just to make my life a little easier. I don't have air tools or a budget to allow me to purchase air tools.
Would this job be easier with an such a tool to remove/install the ball joint? Or is it one of those jobs where it's best to use hand tools?

Thanks in advance.

HARDTRAILZ

Nov 18, 2011
The tool is fine for upper, but sucks for lowers so no concern for you there.

You will be surprised how simple the upper really is. Good learning spot really.
I don't use impacts unless I have to. I would not even get one out to do the uppers. You are better off buying a torque wrench if you do not own one. I will never put wheel n tires on a vehicle without one unless absolutely forced to. They are fairly cheap and incredibly important.

Reactions: Redbeard and Matt

mntb

Original poster
Mar 18, 2016
minnesota
I read a few step-by-steps. It sound pretty simple. From what I gather, the hardest part is getting the adapters to line up and the new ball joint to go into the knuckle straight.

I can't seem to find where I read it but something about the ball joint tool being too small or there was an issue where it didn't work well with the shape of the upper knuckle on the tbs/envoys. But this person rented a different ball joint tool from a different store and that one worked better. I don't know what the difference was though.