Ready to pull hair out.

jistincase

Original poster
Aug 20, 2015
I have a 2003 TB that i have been chasing a problem for over 3 years now. It is getting worse over the course of that time but when it started it was very intermitent. What happens is when you are cruising at a steady speed especially in the highway it will all of the sudden jolt and buck. Sometimes it is like someone turned off the key or the fuel. It has started to do it around town now and sometimes it will stall out at a light. When it does this it there are no codes or cel lights that come on. One time it did throw a code about bank 1 lean and the idle went up to about 1000rpms for a bit and then went away. Today I was doing about 35 under very light accelleration and it took a nose dive like you turned it off and then came back. At one point I thought it might stall completely. It has over 100,000 miles on it and has the oil changed every 3000 because I have the lifetime oil change through the dealer.

I have replaced the cam sensor, o2 upstream sensor, MAP, new plugs from delco, all coil packs, fuel filter and fuel pump along with a new alternator just because. O and a new pressure regulator. This is not like a little loss of power it is a total loss of power and then back on again. I do mostly highway miles with it as I travel a lot taking my daughter to BMX races around the country. I even pulled the cam positioning sensor out to see it the screens were clean and they are spotless. It does have a little oil around the electrical unit though. One thing that I do notice is when I am on the highway it seems like it has a lean miss all the time. My hearing isn't that good anymore but I seem to hear it popping in the exhaust and you can feel it slightly surging. It also only seems to do it when it has reached operating temp and when it is hot out it is worse.