Ordered a tune from PCM of NC

07Denali

Original poster
Feb 28, 2013
Well finally pulled the trigger and ordered a mail order tune from PCM of NC went with the core program so we can keep daily driving till it gets here. So who else runs there tune? I went pretty basic on the tune with shift increased to 1 and leaving dod enabled since im not burning thru much oil. and 87 octane. Hoping to see a improvement with torque management and towing drive ability. thanks for any comments :smile:

Blckshdw

Nov 20, 2011
Tampa Bay Area, FL
Not a V8, but I've been running one of their tunes for about 3 years now. Went initially with a 93 octane tune, but changed it back to 87. Shift firmness 2, and don't notice much of a difference as far as the shifts go. Truck is WAY more fun to drive, and will get-up-and-go when I ask it to. That's probably the biggest difference from stock. :twocents:

dmanns67

Apr 3, 2013
Ohio
:iagree: Carlton

I have been running their tune for a couple years now and it has made a big difference. Makes the TB fun to drive. Since you have a V8, I am sure you already have some get up and go. Increasing the shift firmness (level 2 on mine), removing all torque management, tuning for octane (93 my preference), increasing the rev limiter, and removing the speed limiter made a big difference for my I6.

Plus, if you have an aftermarket intake, exhaust, etc, you can incorporate that into the tune to get the most out of the money spent on parts.

There are claims of MPG improvements, but I have not seen them. Most likely my fault. MPGs did not get worse either, remained about the same. Never seen below 16 mpgs even in the winter. Have reached up to 23.7 mpgs on highway.

Reactions: Blckshdw

07Denali

Original poster
Feb 28, 2013
just wondering now if I should change the transmission firmness up to 2?

dmanns67

Apr 3, 2013
Ohio