"How To" Relocate DRLs To Fogs

Ryda55555

Original poster
Apr 11, 2013
First of all i would like to thank and give all credit to JimmyJam for all the info i'm about to share and also for his really fast responses to my PMs, without him i'd still be scratching my head at the thought of doing a DRL Relocation.

This Mod will change your DRLs (lows) and perimeter lights to your Fog Lamps during the day but will activate lows (in my case HIDs) at night when all the other lights come on (dash lights, plate lights etc.)

(Things to consider)
Fogs do not turn off when lows come on at night, instead they stay on all the time
Only time they do turn off is when high beams are activated (lows and highs will be on together)
Fog lamp button on dash is useless and will no longer function (could wire something else to it though)
Fog Lamp indicator light on dash will always be on and headlight indicator light will come on when lows come on.

Difficulty:Easy (I'm a complete noob at electrical stuff but all you need to do is follow the colors)
Estimated Time To Complete:30Mins-1Hour including cleanup

Things you will need:
-Wire cutters/strippers
-crimps, solder, electrical tape or whatever you want to use to secure wire connections
-capacitor (i used the same one from my cap mod 10UF/50V)
-relay (any automotive relay works, i used the one from my HID relay kit)
-size 18 deep socket for the ground screw under the chair
-a drawn/printed diagram helps A LOT

You will be doing this mod in the rear fuse box (driver side)
connector 1 is the bottom one closest to the floor and connector 2 is the top one
The numbers (30,85,86,87) are all from the relay and are also labelled on the relay

Directions:
-splice pink (connector 2) and add (86) from the relay
-pink and white from connector side (connector 1) cut and attach to body side dark green and white (connector 2) and positive from capacitor