engine oil

omer

Original poster
Jan 18, 2016
ksa
hi..:smile: . I have rebuild my engine and my mechanic says that i should use castrol magnetic oil 5w30.........what i have noticed is when its running for some hours if i check the dip stick for oil level it seems very low and the engine oil pressure indicator comes on and one more thing i am living in saudi arabia and the temperature is around 32 - 45 degree Celsius . so which oil should i use .in winter for 2 -3 months the temp goes around 18-26 celsius

littleblazer

Jul 6, 2014
Well, in the summer months it probably wouldn't hurt to run a 10w30. I am by no means an oil expert but they won't shear as much since the weights are closer together. But 5w30 should be fine. Any brand is fine as well. As for your low level, can you confirm 7 quarts was added when it was changed. Something like 6.6 liters. If that's good I would look into the oil pressure switch maybe flaking out or it could be the oil thinning out due to the high heat. Maybe even a failing oil pump or worn engine. But that shouldn't be the case because it was rebuilt you said? Would you be able to give us a bit more information on year, engine and such?

omer

Original poster
Jan 18, 2016
ksa
i forget to mention, when i check in the morning its ok the level is ok .my mechanic told me to change oil pressure sensor, i baught one from junk yard but didn't replaced yet . the engine was 285000 km on it before rebuilt and i changed new oil pump . its 4.2 l I6 engine in trailblazer ext 2005.

07TrailyLS

May 7, 2014
Toledo ohio
If you check your oil minited after the truck is turned off, you will read low since all your oil still hasn't made it back to the pan. Give it time and try again

Mounce

Mar 29, 2014
Tuscaloosa, AL
5w30 is mostly considered an "all climate" oil. Honestly it doesn't matter what brand or whether it's synthetic or conventional, if you change it when it's due, you should have no issues.

Reactions: Capote

Matt

Dec 2, 2011