2004 TB lt transmission slipping

Zoltan

Original poster
Dec 2, 2015
Florida
OK, New to the site, searching for advice. I'm not a mechanical guru, I can do lots of stuff, but I'm betting this issue is out of my league.
Lets start with the basics - 2004 Trailblazer LT, 231500 miles. I've been doing most of the usual preventative stuff myself. The last tranny work was at about 212000 miles - dropped the pan, replaced the filter and gasket, drained out as much fluid as I could and replaced with Dexron IV - it was about 6 quarts. Fluid looked good (not new, but red and clear) and smelled good after a 30 mile test run. Lately, its been slow shifting when in drive at highway speeds. This morning, it lost all push - hi revs, speed dropped off. upper gears slipping. Tried it in 3, no better. Shifted to 2 and it bit and I can move down the road - at higher RPM and slower speeds suitable for 2. Checked the fluid - it definitely needs to be changed dark, burned smell, not red.
Here is my question - to the experts out there, does this sound like a fluid issue or is this probably going to go deeper? If deeper, can you give me a ballpark estimate on how much it will impact my wallet? Should I do this at a dealership, or is a place like AAMCO ok?

HARDTRAILZ

Nov 18, 2011
Sadly I think it is not just fluid.

I would never go to a dealer unless you want to overpay. Better to find a local shop...not necessarily a chain...that will rebuild it for 1000-1500. Not a AAMCO fan myself and prefer to find the local guy that does transmissions all the time.

You might be best either trying a used trans or if you plan to keep the truck and it is in good shape, you could grab a rebuild or new one for about two grand. It is not that difficult of swap.

Sparky

Dec 4, 2011
If the fluid is that cooked after less than 20k miles then I would agree it is something bad going on inside. Could try fresh fluid (you never know) but I doubt it would fix it.