NEED HELP 2004 Envoy won't start

S Tucker

Original poster
Jul 13, 2016
Hutchinson KS
I will give as much information as I can..first of all I am not a mechanic, so I guess that means I really should have taken by Envoy in to have it serviced...but I didn't!

About a 2 weeks ago I replaced the spark plugs..seemed pretty straight forward (I-6 engine). I think I have everything gapped right. Only problem I had was with the very front one, there is a plastic cable tray I had a hard time getting off and then back on. Everything seemed to be fine, but after a few days I noticed the car is idling rough in gear. In Park, seems pretty smooth-sometimes when I put it in gear it is rough, kind of shaking. (turning a/c on\off doesn't seem to affect issue). Also sometimes stopping at stoplight has same symptom-really rough. But this doesn't happen all the time, and when in park always seems to be ok. So we went on a 5.5 hour (each way) trip, again most of the time just fine, occasionally rough idle.

After getting back from the trip, the vehicle wouldn't start, finally turned over and ran fine for about a week. Then a few days ago it wouldn't start at all. This is where I am at now.

It cranks, and cranks, and cranks, like it is going to start, but never does. Check engine does come on but no codes (I have a scanner). Friend said it sounded like the variable timing solenoid, so we replaced it (it was kind of gunky, but the screens looked ok). Still it won't start. So now I am wondering what to do next? Could it be the camshaft sensor? Or is there something else I should check. Thanks for any help.

Mooseman

Dec 4, 2011
Ottawa, ON
What spark plugs did you use? These engines are very picky and like only ACDelco 41-103. And you DO NOT gap them as you will damage the irdium tips.